Hybrid Vigor Music

Hybrid Vigor Music ~ The

Quartet Project

        Home About HVM The Quartet Project The Bug Opera Get Involved Contact Us

The Quartet Project

The Quartet Project is a six-volume collection of graduated string quartets by composer Geoffrey Hudson.  Modeled on Béla

Bartók’s Mikrokosmos, the Quartet Project aims to create a significant addition to the string quartet literature by introducing

contemporary music into the repertoire of musicians of all ages from the outset of their chamber music studies.

The Quartet Project encompasses the commissioning, workshop-testing, and

publication of approximately 3 ½ hours of new music for string quartet. To date,

Geoffrey Hudson has composed more than 100 miniature quartet movements, most

of which have been tested already by young quartets in workshops across the

United States. More than 50 young quartets have played Quartet Project music in

the last year.

Publication of the full collection—120 miniatures plus six full-length string quartets—

is slated for 2012.

International response to the Quartet Project has been enthusiastic. Click here to

see what people are saying.


Quartet Project Home

About the Quartet Project    

About the Music   

What they're saying...  

About Geoffrey Hudson  

Download and listen to sample pieces

Inspiration for the Quartet Project


Compulsion from the Quartet Project